WHO is in Control?

It is not atypical: a day with so many things scheduled in so many different places that it can’t possibly work out well. For someone who likes planning, that either drives me crazy – or drives me to my knees early in the morning (the latter of which is NOT a bad thing!!) This morning, I was complaining to God about the day ahead. I heard Him saying, “Just trust me and enjoy the ride.” Okay; fair enough.

Before long, a scheduled outing that would have taken a major part of the day was postponed. Whew! But the prayer appointment for 9:00-9:30 went from 9:00-noon, I waited in line 30 minutes just to buy a kilo of beef, and someone showed up at home unexpectedly in need of counseling. Despite hours in traffic, we ended the day in my niece’s home; precious time with a great family.

People who like to be in control (such as yours truly) do not always have an easy time in this culture. traffic 3Take the example of last week, when a bus driver’s strike meant that we started the DOVE Kenya conference trafficover two hours late. Or today when a guest who we advertised as speaking in church tomorrow cancelled, or when a wedding scheduled for 10 a.m. starts at 12:30. It just happens. You have to take life easy.

As much as I complain, I believe it is really important to be reminded – even when it’s uncomfortable – that I am NOT the master of everything. Reminded that I am NOT the center of the universe around which everything revolves. A life that is predictable, sanitized, self-managed and tightly controlled can too quickly become a life that does not require faith. A life in which there is always enough – yes, we serve a God who is more than enough – but a life in which we never need to literally cry “GIVE US THIS DAY OUR DAILY BREAD,” is one that can easily leave God out of the daily equation.

So even though many days seem chaotic and I usually feel overwhelmed, I would choose this lifestyle all over again if ever given the chance.

And just for the record: the day was, in fact, a wonderful ride!

~ Diane

About Omondis In Kenya

Ibrahim and Diane Omondi serve on the DOVE Christian Fellowship International Apostolic Council, giving oversight to the region of Africa. They have been ministering together in Kenya since 1984 and now oversee the work of more than 100 congregations in four nations. They also give leadership to the missions thrust of DOVE Africa which includes 14 Kenyan and Ugandan missionaries serving among unreached people groups in these nations. The Omondis direct Springs of Africa, a non-profit organization sponsoring micro-finance, community development and various education initiatives.
This entry was posted in Cultures, Inspiration, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to WHO is in Control?

  1. Pingback: My Life Belongs to You | omondisinkenya

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.