Beat Stress: Give Thanks!

Watermelon on a tree? It’s ‘jack fruit’ in Western Uganda. Very delicious!

The last few days have been highly stressful – even depressing. It is all too easy for ‘cup-half-empty’ people (like me) to see negatives in almost every situation.

Also in the last few days, many friends have sent out messages about being thankful. It is Thanksgiving, after all. I agreed with whatever I was reading, but still felt the strain of struggle rather than the victory that comes with a thankful heart.

Then I noticed one particular line in Steve Propkopchak’s blog Thankful : “Thankfulness is less stressful.” That caught my attention. “I definitely need less stress,” I thought.

Many times, gratitude is actually a discipline. So this morning I disciplined myself to use my entire prayer time for thanksgiving. No cries of “God, Help! God, see this problem. God, do something about this situation.” Only giving thanks.

You know, being thankful really IS all that it’s “cracked up” to be.  I’m feeling better already. And I’m sure the people around me will feel better, too.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING. Today and every day!

~ Diane

About Omondis In Kenya

Ibrahim and Diane Omondi serve on the DOVE Christian Fellowship International Apostolic Council, giving oversight to the region of Africa. They have been ministering together in Kenya since 1984 and now oversee the work of more than 100 congregations in four nations. They also give leadership to the missions thrust of DOVE Africa which includes 14 Kenyan and Ugandan missionaries serving among unreached people groups in these nations. The Omondis direct Springs of Africa, a non-profit organization sponsoring micro-finance, community development and various education initiatives.
This entry was posted in Bible, Inspiration, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Beat Stress: Give Thanks!

  1. Victor says:

    Hi Diane thank you so much for such teaching, I appreciate you for the good work. Allow me to say thankyou to Almighty God n to you too. Am far from where i started since i joined Dove.

  2. Thank you, Ibrahim and Diane for your candid message. We give God thanks for two quality people like yourselves. It is a privelege to know you and to serve the King with you!

  3. George Otieno says:

    Ahsante sana kwa ujumbe mwema! Ahsante na shukrani kwa Mola!

  4. Lilian Mukanzi says:

    Yes, being thankful is a discipline indeed.Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

