Be Anxious for Nothing, BUT. . . .

Life gives us plenty of things to be anxious about. If I am to speak for myself, it might be:

  • Wondering whether the team that traveled ‘aaaaall this way’ will actually be able to get into the refugee camp as they wish;
  • Worrying about Debbi navigating her summer plans all alone;
  • Trying to figure out where money will come from to pay bills;
  • Fretting that there’s no way we will finish the current meeting and still be on time for the next.

Last Saturday was particularly not good. We were having a DOVE leader’s retreat here at our guest house. Short on staff, the day’s schedule packed, the car not starting. . . it is usually the little things. The “straw” that snapped my anxiety string was realizing at 11 a.m. that I had forgotten to buy the beef needed for lunch. I just started to cry.

Now that I’m over 50 (smile) I find myself forgetting things much more often. So I try to analyze. For example: “WHY did I forget to buy beef? Ooh, I was concentrating on the meeting.” Or, “WHY did I forget my phone? Oooh, I was thinking about my shopping list.” In other words, one thought replaced the other. There’s only room for so much in my active brain function at any one time.

Similarly, Apostle Paul doesn’t stop at telling the Philippians not to be anxious. He continues: “But in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, make your requests known unto God.” Prayer, then, becomes the real solution for beating anxiety. Staying occupied with “But in everything by prayer and supplication” is the very thing that will drive anxiety away. There will be no room for it in my mind or heart.

What are you anxious about today? Every time the worries come, switch gears to prayer. Focus on the “But…” God will handle things much better than you or I ever could!

~ Diane

About Omondis In Kenya

Ibrahim and Diane Omondi serve on the DOVE Christian Fellowship International Apostolic Council, giving oversight to the region of Africa. They have been ministering together in Kenya since 1984 and now oversee the work of more than 100 congregations in four nations. They also give leadership to the missions thrust of DOVE Africa which includes 14 Kenyan and Ugandan missionaries serving among unreached people groups in these nations. The Omondis direct Springs of Africa, a non-profit organization sponsoring micro-finance, community development and various education initiatives.
This entry was posted in Bible, Inspiration, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

