Read the Label

Debbi and Daniel are home for the summer – it such a joy to have them in our daily life again! Debbi still has oatmeal every morning for breakfast, by the way, and is generally very careful and conscious about what she eats. Aware of that, I spent quite a bit to have a variety of “healthy” food in the house before her coming. Or so I thought.

“Mommy, this is just full of sugar,” she said in reaction to the granola bars in the drawer. “This tomato soup doesn’t even have tomatoes in it!” Or, “the whole wheat biscuits are nothing but chemicals. DID YOU READ THE LABEL?” So much for my attempts at healthy eating. (Thankfully, we stocked up on the real stuff instead: fresh vegetables, raw grains and non-processed staples).

But it made me think: how often do we base decisions on what things appear to be like, rather than what they actually are? How often do we try to present the façade of something that is not real?

God definitely reads our label. “You perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; You are familiar with all my ways” (Ps 129:2b-3).

Our son Daniel told me in a text message last week “Mommy, I think you seem like a real person.” I was not sure what that meant – but he was gracious enough to add a second line. “That’s a good thing.” So I took it as a compliment.

I hope that God, as well as men, find what they expect when they look at me more closely. I guess it’s called integrity: a list of ingredients inside that matches the title on the cover.

With all the failures, faults and weaknesses, Lord, help me be real.

~ Diane

About Omondis In Kenya

Ibrahim and Diane Omondi serve on the DOVE Christian Fellowship International Apostolic Council, giving oversight to the region of Africa. They have been ministering together in Kenya since 1984 and now oversee the work of more than 100 congregations in four nations. They also give leadership to the missions thrust of DOVE Africa which includes 14 Kenyan and Ugandan missionaries serving among unreached people groups in these nations. The Omondis direct Springs of Africa, a non-profit organization sponsoring micro-finance, community development and various education initiatives.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Read the Label

  1. 3espighs says:

    I love this entry! I forwarded it on to both Becca & Abbey right away, as they are avid food-label-readers……..AnD writers of texts, too! Thanks for the message in these analogies!!

    Laurie

  2. 3espighs says:

    I don’t know why my comment was delivered by “3 Espighs”!They’re friends we are linked with, but this is from ME, L. Fulmer……in case it happens again:)!!!

  3. Pam says:

    Diane and Ibrahim-
    Just discovered your blog and may I say, I have been riveted for the last hour and a half? I started at the top and started reading and didn’t stop until I hit the last one. Loved reading about your life in Kenya and the culture shock of “coming home” to the States. I also loved all the pictures of both your immediate family and the larger family of believers. (Loved how everyone seems to call you ‘Mum’. Made me smile!)
    Reading your words and thoughts has been a bit like walking in your world for a time. I’m sure I’ll return often to get a dose of Omondi, be it Diane or Ibrahim.
    Love to you from the Graber household!
    Pam

Leave a Reply

