Still Waters

After being in the States for 4+ weeks and sleeping on many different beds, I was ready to get home. Two nights in planes and airport seats was not ‘fun,’ but was a necessary part of the process of our return to Kenya.

As soon as I got out of the car and into our driveway, my body wanted to go straight to bed. But my spirit was saying otherwise. There was a strong call to the garden. “He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul” (Ps 23:2,3).

How refreshing to see a variety of vegetables at different stages of growth. I felt like God was there walking with, smelling with, breathing with and enjoying it all with me. Sweet potato vines, lima beans, sweet corn, red beets, broccoli, cilantro… and yes, tilapia in still waters of the ponds. I could not resist throwing a handful of fish meal into the ponds to enjoy the sight of the fish jumping up to catch the food.

I think the garden was God’s idea. Eden must have been a place where God, His creation and human beings connected so well. For me, the garden or even forests continue to be that place of communion with our loving Father.

Wherever your ideal place for sweet fellowship, may you find it often.

~ Ibrahim

About Omondis In Kenya

Ibrahim and Diane Omondi serve on the DOVE Christian Fellowship International Apostolic Council, giving oversight to the region of Africa. They have been ministering together in Kenya since 1984 and now oversee the work of more than 100 congregations in four nations. They also give leadership to the missions thrust of DOVE Africa which includes 14 Kenyan and Ugandan missionaries serving among unreached people groups in these nations. The Omondis direct Springs of Africa, a non-profit organization sponsoring micro-finance, community development and various education initiatives.
This entry was posted in Bible, Inspiration, Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Still Waters

  1. Bonnie Stevenson says:

    I enjoyed reading your still waters insight.. I think of John 7:38…Out of our innermost being shall flow rivers of living water…I am so thankful it is rivers and not just a trickle or a drip. PTL..Say hi to Diane for me and I will be sending book this week through the PA office address she gave me. By the time you read this I will have been on a job interview and hopefully have good news that I got the job. I am Because He Is!
    your friend always,
    Bonnie

  2. Jim And Lynda Shrum says:

    Thanks so much for spending time with us. You and Diane really ministered and encourage all if us.
    Jim, Lynda, Janelle, Valen and Liam

Leave a Reply

