“To Don’t” List!

Most of us have a “To Do” list. Well, there could be a few exceptions, like my husband, who would never write a lilist tickedst if his life depended on it. But whether on a piece of paper, in a diary, on our phones or just in our heads, we generally organize life around the things we need to do.

As I was reading John 19, verse 12 caught my attention: “From then on, Pilate tried (kept trying) to set Jesus free. But . . . .”   Pilate ‘kept trying,’ but couldn’t. He couldn’t because – as noble and good and upright and worthy a cause as it seemed to be (saving Jesus from being crucified, that is; what more important and godly thing could anyone aspire to?!) – it was simply not God’s will.

Interpretation: Sometimes, if we keep trying to do something but without success, maybe that something is just not God’s will?

And on to the application step: What am I trying to do that is not God’s will?

After several minutes of listening, I felt directed to take one specific item OFF my ‘to do’ list! It has been there for six months or more, being copied from one list to another, week after week. Now it is off. What a relief! And there are a few listed items that I’ve committed to reconsider.

Obviously I’m not advocating that we should give up on this or that just because things don’t seem to be working. What I am advocating is that we listen more to the Holy Spirit and less to our own driven, ambitious nature. And that we carefully consider these four important “Leadership Questions” (source unknown):

  • What am I doing that does not need to be done?
  • What am I doing that could be done by someone else?
  • What am I doing that only I can do?
  • What should I be doing that I am not?

Enjoy writing your “To Don’t” list today!

~ Diane

About Omondis In Kenya

Ibrahim and Diane Omondi serve on the DOVE Christian Fellowship International Apostolic Council, giving oversight to the region of Africa. They have been ministering together in Kenya since 1984 and now oversee the work of more than 100 congregations in four nations. They also give leadership to the missions thrust of DOVE Africa which includes 14 Kenyan and Ugandan missionaries serving among unreached people groups in these nations. The Omondis direct Springs of Africa, a non-profit organization sponsoring micro-finance, community development and various education initiatives.
This entry was posted in Bible, Inspiration, Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

