New and Improved?

Pre-script: Kenya’s High Court approved the ICC-bound candidates to run in the March 4 elections. We trust for fair elections and peace in the land!

Some people thrive in change. They like to stay up-to-date with the newest version of everything. Maybe you are that type.

Not me. I am NOT a fan of “new and improved.” Whether a new version of Windows, an upgraded cell phone, or a new arrangement of our furniture, I generally do not like change. Last week, a message popped up on our computer screen “Check out the Improvements in Outlook.” I decided to ‘check it out’ – and in one second, everything that I was used to had changed on that screen. The font was different. The color was different. The emails were ‘stacked’ together (so that I couldn’t find what I wanted). All the commands were in a different place. It was so confusing, but I could not ‘revert.’ Only groan.

I must have been 7 or 8 years old when my father taught on Sunday morning about a “new” version of the Bible that had just been published (probably NIV?) I was worried. That year I had memorized Psalm 23 and John 3:16. I was confused about what would happen if those verses were now different. My young mind could not comprehend how they could ever be changed. I looked up the scriptures in the “new” Bible and felt so distressed to find that the words WERE different. O, no! How could anyone dare change the Bible!?

Maybe that childhood ‘trauma’ gave me a bad taste of new things – that has stuck with me until today?

Our friend, Mike McCausland, writes:1 “Change is beginning to accelerate exponentially. Everything is changing; people, information, technology, communications, economies, even the way our brains and bodies function. The world is shrinking, challenges and opportunities are growing, and change is accelerating. Mankind is about to experience the most significant transformation since the beginning of time.”

It is true – almost everything around us is changing. In this kind of world, I find tremendous solace and stability in the Lord who does not change,2  in the Word of God which stands forever,3 in the love of God that continues to all generations4, in the Kingdom of God that cannot be shaken,5 in the covenant of our Father which is from everlasting to everlasting!6

Yes, the world is changing. But even if the twenty-third Psalm has slightly different words, the message is secured. “I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever!”

~ Diane

1“Pioneering in the 21st Century” by Mike McCausland; 2 Malachi 3:6; 3 Isaiah 40:8; 4 Psalm 100:5; 5 Psalm 145:13; 6 Psalm 105:10

About Omondis In Kenya

Ibrahim and Diane Omondi serve on the DOVE Christian Fellowship International Apostolic Council, giving oversight to the region of Africa. They have been ministering together in Kenya since 1984 and now oversee the work of more than 100 congregations in four nations. They also give leadership to the missions thrust of DOVE Africa which includes 14 Kenyan and Ugandan missionaries serving among unreached people groups in these nations. The Omondis direct Springs of Africa, a non-profit organization sponsoring micro-finance, community development and various education initiatives.
This entry was posted in Bible, Inspiration, Kenya politics, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New and Improved?

  1. Bonnie Stevenson says:

    Diane I really like your segments and I miss you…your friend, Bonnie USA

  2. Larry and Doris Diener says:

    Dear Diane,

    Beautifully written. You are I are of the same cloth.

    Love, Larry

  3. Me too. I am not a lover of change…never have been and probably will not embrace lots of change readily. Praying for you and your family – for divine protection, peace, and health. Anticipating your presence at Sandy Cove and beyond. Love, Mary

    • Bonnie Stevenson says:

      Diane where is Sandy Cove…in the USA…let me know when you are coming if it is…try to make way to get in touch with you ..love and prayers. Bonnie

Leave a Reply

