Day Four and All is Well

A chronological plan for Bible reading really ‘adds value’. I recommend that you try it. Consider, for example, Psalm 52 immediately after II Samuel 22 – David’s prayer of response after being betrayed by Doeg.

Today’s readings contained a lot of intrigue, drama and violence. The latter can be quite disturbing. David was very conscientious about not shedding innocent blood in some instances, yet when it came to the enemies of Israel, he was renowned for slaying ‘tens of thousands.’ I always breathe a sigh of relief when we read, “The land had rest from war.”

“…When I tried to understand all this, it was oppressive to me, until I entered the sanctuary of God; then I understood their final destiny” (Ps 73:10-11). Yes, in the presence of God, our minds and quieted and hearts encouraged.

I noticed that in the Hebrew culture, ones family line was apparently very important. The lists and lists of genealogies, repeated backward and forward and inside out, indicate this. Maybe it was similar to the African culture – more about ‘who’ you know than ‘what’ you know. An uncle or aunt in high office is seen to hold a key for your future.

I gleaned a meaningful promise: “Yet I am always with you; You hold me by my right hand. You guide me with your counsel, and afterward you will take me into glory” (Ps 73:23-24).

Bible Trivia Day Four:  What are the only complete chapters of Chronicles that are not repeated from other Old Testament books? (In I Chronicles, even the fact that Zelophehad only had daughters is mentioned again).

~ Diane

About Omondis In Kenya

Ibrahim and Diane Omondi serve on the DOVE Christian Fellowship International Apostolic Council, giving oversight to the region of Africa. They have been ministering together in Kenya since 1984 and now oversee the work of more than 100 congregations in four nations. They also give leadership to the missions thrust of DOVE Africa which includes 14 Kenyan and Ugandan missionaries serving among unreached people groups in these nations. The Omondis direct Springs of Africa, a non-profit organization sponsoring micro-finance, community development and various education initiatives.
This entry was posted in Bible, Bible Read-a-Thon, Inspiration, Justice, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

