Jonah

On my knees at 5 a.m., my heart was more full of complaining than thanksgiving. I often console myself by saying, “Even David complained a lot.” In response, I felt God saying, “You are acting like Jonah.” OUCH!

It wasn’t the part about Jonah not wanting to go to Nineveh, but rather the later part of the story, after the people had repented and God had relented. Jonah was so focused on himself and his own ‘needs’ (aka: desire for comfort). . . We should probably read it.

God: Do you have a right to be angry about the vine?

Jonah: I DO! (I can imagine him shouting.) I am angry enough to die.

God: You have been concerned about this vine, though you did not tend it or make it grow. It sprang up overnight and died overnight. But Nineveh has more than 120,000 people. . . should I not be concerned about that great city?

The lesson is clear. There are things God has given me/ us, totally not based on our own doing or our own making, that we become very possessive of and even worried about. Our view is egocentric. But God has a greater purpose in mind. He has an eternal strategy to bring mankind out of the clutches of darkness and into the Kingdom of Light. To that end, He wants to use us, according to His design and not our own. God is working out everything in conformity to the purpose of His will.

Will I be a complaining vessel or an obedient servant?

“Lord, conform and transform me. My human nature is selfish – but I do not want to be a ‘Jonah.’ Have your way with me.”

~ Diane

P.S. Photo on top: With Daniel and Debbi at our other-side of  Ngong Hills property. We had an amazing 2 days of camping there with the whole family this week.

About Omondis In Kenya

Ibrahim and Diane Omondi serve on the DOVE Christian Fellowship International Apostolic Council, giving oversight to the region of Africa. They have been ministering together in Kenya since 1984 and now oversee the work of more than 100 congregations in four nations. They also give leadership to the missions thrust of DOVE Africa which includes 14 Kenyan and Ugandan missionaries serving among unreached people groups in these nations. The Omondis direct Springs of Africa, a non-profit organization sponsoring micro-finance, community development and various education initiatives.
This entry was posted in Bible, Inspiration, Personal, Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

