Day 4: BEHIND THE SCENES

I thoroughly enjoyed our reading today. After being inspired by the cultural finesse of Ruth and courage of Naomi in the book of Ruth, we navigated through the record of Israel’s experiences with her first kings. Major players were of course Samuel, Saul and David. This was interspersed with David’s writing as recorded in the book of Psalms.

The chronological reading pattern we are using reminds me of the technique that TV reality shows use when they take participants aside for “behind the scenes” candid interviews. Reading David’s Psalms concurrently with First and Second Samuel is kind of like that. The report is in the historical books, but the inside story from David’s heart is in the Psalms. Check it out! If you have the time, read the following in this sequence.

  • I Samuel 19; Psalm 59;
  • I Samuel 20-21; Psalm 34;
  • I Samuel 22:1-2; Psalm 142;
  • I Samuel 22:3-23; Psalm 52;
  • I Samuel 23; Psalm 27;
  • I Samuel 24; Psalm 63;
  • I Samuel 25; Psalm 45;
  • I Samuel 26; Psalm 54;
  • I Samuel 27; Psalm 56.

Wow — that list became a lot longer than I intended!! Obviously it could go on and on…

~ Diane

About Omondis In Kenya

Ibrahim and Diane Omondi serve on the DOVE Christian Fellowship International Apostolic Council, giving oversight to the region of Africa. They have been ministering together in Kenya since 1984 and now oversee the work of more than 100 congregations in four nations. They also give leadership to the missions thrust of DOVE Africa which includes 14 Kenyan and Ugandan missionaries serving among unreached people groups in these nations. The Omondis direct Springs of Africa, a non-profit organization sponsoring micro-finance, community development and various education initiatives.
This entry was posted in Bible, Bible Read-a-Thon, Cultures, Inspiration and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

