Like a Child: Hold on Tight

I was blessed to cuddle with a precious 4-month old baby this evening. The temperatures were cool, so I was holding her closely — face to face. Ha! I was painfully reminded why I chopped off my long hair soon after our first child was born. It was that amazing infant grip! If he would get a hold of my hair, he would pull until I had tears in my eyes. And there seemed to be no way to get those strands of hair free. The grip was just too tight!

Herein, one more way in which our faith should be child-like: holding on to Jesus with every ounce of strength within us! Holding on to His promises when nothing seems to be working. Holding on to His grace when we mess things up. Holding on to the words we heard ‘in the light,’ during times of darkness.

I can hold on to “who God says I am” when I feel useless. Hold on to my identity as a daughter of the King when under attack. Hold on to joy when things make me sad. Hold tight to my Father’s love.

For babies, that “Palmar grasp” is a reflex: a muscular response that does not require an intentional decision. I pray that my response to God would be the same. I pray that I would just grab on to Him without thinking twice (or thinking once) about it. Just naturally, I would hold tight to the hope I have in Christ.

A pastor’s wife recently talked about how glad she was that she had not given up when things were so hard. I often reflect on the same. Staying the course through the difficult days is always worth it. That is, holding on.

Whatever promise, ministry, calling, hope God has given you > HOLD IT TIGHTLY!

“Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful” (Heb 10:23).

~ Diane

About Omondis In Kenya

Ibrahim and Diane Omondi serve on the DOVE Christian Fellowship International Apostolic Council, giving oversight to the region of Africa. They have been ministering together in Kenya since 1984 and now oversee the work of more than 100 congregations in four nations. They also give leadership to the missions thrust of DOVE Africa which includes 14 Kenyan and Ugandan missionaries serving among unreached people groups in these nations. The Omondis direct Springs of Africa, a non-profit organization sponsoring micro-finance, community development and various education initiatives.
This entry was posted in Child-like, Family, Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

