Like a Child: Who Daddy Says I Am

Knowing who I am in Christ seems to be a really big deal in Christendom these days. I am not sure why it is so hard to convince us, but many of us apparently have a chronic identity crisis and need constant reminders and reassurances about our worth and value. You could be familiar with the popular worship chant that reiterates the same:

We are a chosen generation, called forth to show His excellence.

All I require for life, God has given me, And I know who I am.

I know who God says I am, What He says I am, Where He says I’m at; I know who I am.

I have heard sermon after sermon about knowing our identity in Christ. Crowds really ‘eat it up’; this theme obviously strikes an important cord in our hearts. But to be honest, it baffles me why this is such a big deal — that is — why is it so hard for us to be convinced that we are, in fact, persons of dignity? That we are created in the image of God, and therefore are wonderful and amazing beings?

I guess it does make sense, though, because many of us have been criticized or ridiculed over and over. We have believed what other people say about us. We believe that we are not good enough, that we do not measure up to someone’s ideal standards. That is, we have lost track of who we really are.

An infant starts out life without any idea of who she is! She is not born with a concept of self; that has to be developed. And it will be developed, mostly based on the things the baby learns about herself from significant others. In most circumstances, the nuclear family, especially parents. establish a child’s self-image through the things they say and the way they act.

  • “How do my parents treat me?” A young child is egocentric, which means that everything revolves around self. So if other people love me, it is because I am worth loving.
  • “What do my parents say about me?” If my Daddy says I am good, then I am. If my Daddy says “you can do it,” then I can. Children believe what their parents say about them. Case closed.

Do we, like a child, believe what God says about us and know that God sent His Son, to die for us, because we are worthy of that amazing gift?

“I know who (Father) God says I am” — like a child!

~ Diane

 

 

About Omondis In Kenya

Ibrahim and Diane Omondi serve on the DOVE Christian Fellowship International Apostolic Council, giving oversight to the region of Africa. They have been ministering together in Kenya since 1984 and now oversee the work of more than 100 congregations in four nations. They also give leadership to the missions thrust of DOVE Africa which includes 14 Kenyan and Ugandan missionaries serving among unreached people groups in these nations. The Omondis direct Springs of Africa, a non-profit organization sponsoring micro-finance, community development and various education initiatives.
This entry was posted in Child-like, development, Family, Inspiration, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Like a Child: Who Daddy Says I Am

  1. “Father, give us this very revelation!”

Leave a Reply

