Full Circle

Living for three months in Costa Rica during my college years was a significant experience, to say the least. It was there that I fell in love with another culture and was imprinted with a passion for the developing (or “Third”) world. It was there I knew for certain that I was destined for a cross-cultural lifestyle.

I will never forget the flight back home from San Jose in December 1980. My classmates were thrilled to be going home, but I was heart-broken. It seemed more like a nightmare. Re-entry was distressing-plus. I became convinced that I would never again be able to settle in the United States.

Back in college, I met Ibrahim in our student fellowship. When he spoke about missions, I went forward for prayers. “The rest is history” as they say. Two years later we got married, then moved to Kenya in 1984.

Yes, I  was a fluent Spanish speaker. “Don’t you belong in a Spanish-speaking country?” many people questioned. But my sense of call had not been to a particular nation, and Kenya soon become our new home. Swahili graduallgroup-l-ay replaced Spanish in the “second language compartment” of my brain, and I wondered if I would ever use Spanish again. “One day,” I often prayed. “One day, Lord, I want to go back to Latin America.”

God heard. And answered… 36 years later. This week we have been in Colombia with DOVE Latin America leaders and in the homes of Colombian pastors. !Que preciosa! How precious! It has been an amazingly blessed time.

So many things are similar to Kenya: a ‘warm climate’ culture, an abundance of fruit, crazy driving, perfect weather, coffee and banana fields—and the ministry challenges of poverty, try-thisauthoritarian leadership models in the culture, dependence > > on and on. Yes, it does “feel like” home.

Oh, how God so beautifully weaves the story of each of our lives! I have seen it again and am encouraged again to trust in His sovereignty and Master Plan. Gloria a Dios!

~ Diane

About Omondis In Kenya

Ibrahim and Diane Omondi serve on the DOVE Christian Fellowship International Apostolic Council, giving oversight to the region of Africa. They have been ministering together in Kenya since 1984 and now oversee the work of more than 100 congregations in four nations. They also give leadership to the missions thrust of DOVE Africa which includes 14 Kenyan and Ugandan missionaries serving among unreached people groups in these nations. The Omondis direct Springs of Africa, a non-profit organization sponsoring micro-finance, community development and various education initiatives.
This entry was posted in Cultures, development, Missions, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Full Circle

  1. George Otieno says:

    🇨🇷 Costa Rica is amazing! Yes, similar to Kenya in so many ways! God bless for the full circle that God has allowed in your lives. Amen

  2. Steph Likhanga says:

    I love this and love how God doesn’t “waste” any experience in our life! As I study and try to learn Swahili now, I pray that my Chinese will come into use too…I just don’t want to forget it 🙂

  3. Nan S Garber says:

    Diane, I somehow missed this part of your story….delighted for the full circle. And it may keep circling — since our God is so amazing!

    • It is good to hear from you, Nan. Hard to believe that we were together just a few weeks ago; so much has happened. Yep, Costa Rica was during my junior year (SST) at Goshen. It was so good to be in that part of the world again! Blessings to all of your family.

  4. Thank you so much for serving so unselfishly!!!!!

  5. Bill Sprague says:

    God knew. It seems so obvious in hindsight but is sometimes startling in our realization. He really loves us doesn’t He?

  6. It is good to hear from you, Bill. We trust that things are well with you? Blessings!

  7. Deborah Cressman says:

    How wonderful for you! It’s amazing how He truly knows our hearts and is faithful to fulfill the dreams He puts in them even 36 years later!

Leave a Reply

